It’s that time again!

New York Author Honored at Cocktail Party

Sparkling wit, bon mots & smart turns of phrase are right at home here

Another three months has passed, making it a more than fitting opportunity to check in with all of you hard-working writers to find out exactly how that writing is going.

That’s right, gang. Put on your public-speaking pants (online edition) and step up to take part in the world-renowned Project Status Update Time!

(insert triumphant fanfare here)

It’s a fairly simple process. In the comments section below, feel free to share with the rest of us what’s new with you and your writing.

Page count. Logline development. Contact with a prodco or rep. Pre-production on a short. Any and all updates are welcome.

As is the tradition, I’ll start things off:

I’ll still give it one more read-through, but I wrapped up the rewrite/polish on the comedy spec. It’s more of a dramedy now, but still quite a charming little story.

I’m also in the process of giving notes on some friends’ scripts, and once all of those are done, it’s onto a pair of new projects. Exciting times, indeed.

How about you?

11 Responses to It’s that time again!

  1. Sammy says:

    Waiting for feedback regarding a feature script. Writing a pilot

  2. Pauline Hetrick says:

    I had something nice and totally unexpected happen. I have a script I had given up on, because of a readers comments, change. About two weeks ago I received seven pages of notes arrive in my email inbox. Not only had I forgotten about sending this particular script to the Page Awards, but that I had paid for notes. I received 64 out of 70 points. They passed because it needed a lot of changes. But are willing to review it if I can get them the rewritten script. Can you imagine how I felt. Overwhelmed! And very pleased. I know the saying it in the eye if the beholder and I guess I had a great beholder. My script now has new life!

    • Maximum Z says:

      Fantastic! Good for you! Now get to work.

    • Jennifer C Clark says:

      That’s so great, Pauline! Makes you wonder just how close you get. I know that when I don’t make the cut I assume I’m at the bottom of the list, but you’re right, It really is subjective, love hearing this story. Never stop writing!

  3. Steven Snell says:

    Racing to make the deadline for the ScreenCraft Bootleg Comp with a short about a famous horror character. Then I’m looking forward to reading ‘Dreamship’. Then onto another feature.

  4. Jim says:

    Paul,
    I know I told you I’m in the cave right now contemplating whether to take a break from writing since painting presently gives me more pleasure & more positive reviews ( a respected artist has encouraged me to take part in a big show next year) but This week another production company downloaded a synopsis of “Gower Gulch” from InkTip & I am waiting for a response from a producer who is looking at the same script, again through InkTip.

    As Gene Wilder said when asked why he had not made a movie in so long, “I love the show but not the business.” I was in it for 10 years in NYC when it was fun & an adventure & I worked with people who loved moves & the output was not controlled by corporate accountants. In spite of my feelings, I do have my awards acceptance speech written & ready to go.

    Jim

  5. Jim says:

    Paul,
    I know I told you I’m in the cave right now contemplating whether to take a break from writing since painting presently gives me more pleasure & more positive reviews ( a respected artist has encouraged me to take part in a big show next year) but This week another production company downloaded a synopsis of “Gower Gulch” from InkTip & I am waiting for a response from a producer who is looking at the same script, again through InkTip.

    As Gene Wilder said when asked why he had not made a movie in so long, “I love the show but not the business.” I was in it for 10 years in NYC when it was fun & an adventure & I worked with people who loved moves & the output was not controlled by corporate accountants. In spite of my feelings, I do have my awards acceptance speech written & ready to go.

    Jim

  6. Jennifer C Clark says:

    Have received some positive critique on my Sci-fi/Horror/Drama (genre mashed to the max!) and grooming it with a rewrite, hope to pitch it using social media, but it’s all very experimental at the moment. But, having fun doing it!

    When i have more to say I’ll be back on the comment section. Thank you Maximum Z for the tout!

Leave a Reply

