To EW or not to EW?

A little more progress into the second half of Act Two of LUCY today, thanks yet again to the creative energy that abounds in the midday traffic studio.  I see a lot of potential in the scenes I came up with today.

When I got home, I couldn’t help but notice the short but growing stack of unread Entertainment Weekly magazines next to the bed.  I think there’s at least 3, possibly 4 there right now.  Yet I don’t feel compelled to read them.  Maybe the Oscar nominees issue, but the rest?  Meh.

Over the weekend I got the subscription renewal notice.  My subscription ends in August, and I’m not really sure whether or not I’ll follow through this time.  I can zip through an issue in about 30 minutes, and after that it seems like a waste of money.  (Except for the seasonal Movie preview issues.  Those are always worth it.)

I’ve been getting EW for around 15 years or so.  During that time, the content has, to me, made a gradual downward turn in terms of quality and relatability (which I’m not sure is even a word, but it’s the best I could come up with).  A lot of the articles are based more on style rather than substance.  And the way they hype non-celebrities to the upper stratosphere is getting nauseating.  I don’t care about no-talent nobodies who are famous for being famous (yes, Kardashian family and cast of JERSEY SHORE.  I’m referring to you, amongst others.)

Maybe it’s a sign of my age/demographic that I don’t know or care who a lot of the new batch of celebrities are.  To me, a lot of these actors and actresses look exactly the same.  They’re interchangeable, and honestly, not that talented.

But I will commend EW for their coverage on films, TV and books.  I don’t always agree with the grades they give, but at least they’re not ignoring smaller films.  But I can also get better reviews and information online.  For film, I’d go to any number of screenwriting blogs (see list on the right), Roger Ebert, Ain’t It Cool or Hollywood Elsewhere.  Even Netflix can yield better results.

I’ve never really been into the music scene, but I could read ROLLING STONE for that.  And if I want to read about something on Broadway, I’ll check out THE NEW YORK TIMES or ask my parents, who seem to see just about everything.

I used to get Movieline way back when, like when it actually focused on film.  It had a definite vibe that said “this was written by people  bitter at Hollywood for not making them the successes they thought they should be.”  Which contributed to the fun of reading it.

Then they started pimping stuff like clothes and restaurants, and I lost interest.  I kind of see that happening with EW.  What are the stars wearing?  Who cares?

Is getting Entertainment Weekly really worth it?  A few years ago, I would have said yes.  Now I’m not so sure.

One thought on “To EW or not to EW?

  1. Oh sure, Paul, contribute to the demise of print media and the destruction of our culture as we know it.

    Hee hee. But seriously, print is circling the drain as I type this. I just hope newspapers and magazines figure out a viable business model for the tablet/iPad world.

Leave a Reply

