A step back, but that’s good

Making good progress on the outline.  Up to just past page 45.

But my creativeness keeps nagging me to expand on the third of three subplots, which I need to do anyway.  It really needs the most work.

I went through what I have so far (as part of my standard condensing of each scene into 1-2 sentences) and realized I’d forgotten that while I want both bad guys to be bad, the first one needs to be REALLY bad.  Even better, they’re so much more fun to write.

So for the time being, progress beyond the halfway point is on hold while I reconfigure the story to accomodate the changes I want to make.

Can’t explain it, but I relish the challenge.  Very much so.

Movie of the Moment: A double hit covering the past few days. Watched CLOUDY WITH A CHANCE OF MEATBALLS with V.  I liked it a lot; clever, good animation and jokes, and good writing.  In her usual way, V didn’t want to watch it, but then really got into it.  This happens a lot with her.  Someday she’ll just accept the fact that I won’t let her watch crap (the exception being the live-action LAST AIRBENDER – that was HER idea).

The other film was THE BOOK OF ELI.  I almost turned it off after the first 20 minutes because nothing really seemed to be happening, and the washed-out look got annoying.  But I gave it a chance.  It got better, and had a really great twist at the end.  Still hard to imagine Denzel Washington as an action star, but he did a pretty good job.

2 thoughts on “A step back, but that’s good

  1. I just realized I can subscribe to your blog via email. It’s so silly of me not to have known that.

    Well, I’m subscribed now, so no more missing your blog posts. I look forward to them.

    -Kris

  2. Author Raymond Chandler once said that villains in real life are never entirely bad. Franki Nitti was very kind to his family. After tucking his kids in to bed, he’d tell one of his henchmen to go kill a guy. Nothing personal or snarling about it, and he was one of history’s big bad guys. Have you seen the original “Kiss of Death” with Victor Mature? It’s notable only for the opening jewel robbery sequence and Richard Widmark playing the villain (otherwise it’s standard noir fare with a truckload of “oh, the poor criminal is in jail now who will take care of his family” garbage), and it’s a must-see for a peek at a very good bad guy you hate to see get his in the end. Maybe that will give you some ideas.

Leave a Reply

