Goodbye progress!

And hello writer’s block!

I’m about 7 scenes into Act Two, and just couldn’t think of what happens next.  I hate that. I’ve got a few ideas, and I keep going over them in my head to determine whether they work or not.  Fortunately, this is not the first time this has happened, nor will it be the last.  I’ll work my way through it, but boy is it frustrating.

Even worse, I thought of a way to bring in my highly-awaited bounty hunter character, but until I figure out what happens to my protagonist, I can’t do anything with him.

Part of my problem is I overwrite when I’m still in the planning/outlining phase.  You’re supposed to know what the point of the scene is, or at least, what happens to advance the plot.  Sometimes I do, but more and more often, I go way beyond that.  I add snippets of dialogue.  I put in action.  One primary reason for doing so is I think of something that really helps the scene, and if I don’t write it down now, I’m going to forget about it later.

If I can contain myself enough, or at least self-edit, while I put each scene together, it may help move things along.

I’m also reminding myself to not let the story veer off in an unexpected direction that will change everything.  I know where I want to go, but need to stay focused in order to get there.

-I also got some very good notes on Act One from another writer friend.  He had some good suggestions regarding slightly changing a few things, including one I never thought of which would really help in condensing the story as well as speeding things up.

Tomorrow: back on track!

One thought on “Goodbye progress!

  1. Been there too, my friend… what I like about doing novels is when you get stuck with the main character, you can go play with another, so if I were doing Lucy as a novel I would indeed introduce the bounty hunter, back story and all, and let him carry the story for a bit until we either re-link with the main players or hit another stopping point at which the block from the other part of the story has gone away and we carry on. But screenplays are differnet. You’ll get through it, don’t worry!

Leave a Reply

