Wikipedia is my sister! My daughter! My sister! My daughter!

My apologies for a lack of posts the last few days. A combo of extra hours at work, family stuff and just being busy kept me away.

Progress on the second act of LUCY has been slower than I’d like, but that’s okay. Better to take my time than constantly be fixing it later.

I got some very nice feedback from a fellow writer about Act One. He’s read some of my other stuff and was quite enthusiastic about what I’ve got so far. Although he’s not crazy about the main character being a woman, I think it makes for a slightly different approach, as well as being somewhat original.

Because I’m trying to keep this story as historically accurate as I can, I’ve been using various websites as reference guides. The Civil War, trains, and so on.

And of course, Wikipedia. I’ve gotten a lot of very helpful info from it so far. It is truly invaluable.

Throughout the events of the story, I’ve been establishing that several of the characters will end up in California. This includes the love interest and the villain, who has also stolen Lucy’s train. I pictured a big finale taking place IN California. Sounds awesome, right?

The story starts in the East just as the Civil War is ending, then gradually heads west. That means the trains would need to make their way across the country, which would be 1865.

I wanted to make sure this was plausible, but Wikipedia informed me the driving of the Golden Spike in Utah was the birth of the Transcontinental Railroad. In 1869. Which is 4 years AFTER this story takes place.  Which means I need to CHANGE SOMETHING!

Either I move the time of the story ahead, which destroys that whole “end of the Civil War” aspect, or I change the locale of where the story ends.  As much as I hate to do it, it’s easier to go with the latter.  One of the many rules of writing is “kill your darlings,” so it looks like I’ll being committing murder-by-author in the next few days.  Like I said, it would be great to have the showdown in California, but it just won’t work.  Time to dive back into Wikipedia and find out where gold was plentiful before the railroad.  Denver might work.  A showdown on railroad tracks through the Rockies has potential.

I was originally hoping to be done with the outline by the end of the year, but that ain’t gonna happen.  I’ll be happy if I get to the midpoint by then.

-I sent the scene rewrite back to the director a few days ago, and have heard nothing back.  I don’t know how he feels about it, and he said he wanted to shoot the remaining scenes tomorrow (Sunday).   As always, I wish him the best of luck.

-Even though I thought I was done with it, I sent the logline to NORTH POLE NOIR to the logline contest yesterday. I don’t know what kind of a chance I have; I’ve entered it before, but with no results.  This time he seems to want more Christmas-themed ones, so maybe this time.  Fingers crossed.

One thought on “Wikipedia is my sister! My daughter! My sister! My daughter!

  1. I suppose I should clarify why I don’t care for female protags, since you mentioned me in the post. I don’t know if having a female protagonist is “original” anymore, per se–that was only true when Linda Hamilton went after the T-1000 with a shotgun. After that we had an explosion of female protags for the sake of having a female protag with the main problems being that the male character always played weak second fiddle and had his masculinity left on the cutting room floor, while the woman had more testosterone than a rampaging ape. The other problem was the tough female always getting into trouble at the end, and the male coming to her rescue. It was ridiculous.

    Avoid the usual female cliches (anything you can do I can do better!), and oh my g-d avoid a “The Quick and the Dead” riff. Focus on true-to-life characterization (the struggles of a woman making it in that environment would make a great subplot, and a nice tribute to the women who helped win the west–we’ve never seen anything like that before), and you will indeed stand out from the rest….and thus be original. You’ll have a true “western adventure drama” instead of just an “action adventure”.

Leave a Reply

