That’s MY job?

While the re-organizing of the first act of LUCY continues (including a title change to one that is sheer awesomeness), I got a call yesterday from the director of the short I wrote back in the summer.

I really thought he was going to tell me it was all wrapped up and when the party was.

Nope.

He’s shot three scenes so far, but keeps running into scheduling problems with his actors. One of them can’t be there for shooting the final scene, so he wanted to know if I had any ideas about how to fix it.

I thought it over for a few seconds. The final scene is set in a small hotel lobby and the character makes a 2-second appearance (but has a bigger part earlier in the story).

Put the guy’s headshot in a picture frame and make him Employee of the Month.

Then the director asks whether he should show it in a close-up or start on it and pan over to the hotel desk. Just have it as part of the shot; don’t draw attention to it, I say. He’s not sure.

Okay, then slap the headshot on some posterboard and make it a lobby card for the headliner in the hotel’s lounge. He asks what if I make it greenscreen and fill it in later? That’s making it way more complicated than it has to be, I say. Posterboard, a black Sharpie, maybe some gold stars and a headshot. Five bucks, tops. He’ll think about that one, too.

But we’re not done yet.

A pivotal scene is supposed to take place in a pool hall, but the hall he wants to film in is undergoing renovations. How could he get around this?

I’d like to add that the pool aspect was his idea because he had a clever way of showing trick shots through cgi. So much for that, apparently.

Again, a matter of seconds.

Make it a poker game. Cards, chips, a table, minimal lighting. Easy peasy. Again, he’ll think about it.

Even more amazing is that he wanted to be done before the end of the year so he could submit it to festivals. I hope he makes it.

The last time I saw him in person (mid-August, I think), he told me he was planning to move to LA in January to break into the industry.

I worry he may not be completely prepared. Nevertheless, I still wish him the best of luck.

Leave a Reply

