And now we wait…

I didn’t post yesterday because it was a busy day.  I spent parts of the weekend and most of yesterday working on the outline, and subsequently the first draft of the short.

But it’s done. 11 pages, or 10 1/2 if you want to get technical about it.  It will be very interesting to hear what the director thinks of it.  After all, it is HIS project.  I’m just the hired help.

But just to be sure, I took another look at his pages.  Whoa.

I also checked out some of his other shorts.  Not bad, but the writing in the 2-parter left me a little flat.

Another part of my assignment was to put together a synopsis.  I gave it my best shot, but I’m still not sure if it was decent enough.  I’ll have to look for some online to get a better idea.

He also wanted a character description.  I didn’t even attempt that.  There are five characters, three of which are in once scene each (if you don’t count them appearing in the final scene as normal people).  There’s a main character and a supporting character.  I’d like to think at least those two come across on the page.

This whole thing makes me curious what kind of creative process is taught at this school.  I’m sure there’s an emphasis on craft and all the behind-the-scenes stuff, but without a good or at least quality script, any movie is going to suck.

I’m trying to figure out if there will be any time tomorrow to work on BABY LIKES JAZZ.  I had extra time at work on Sunday, so I was able to get a few pages done.

The writing group is supposed to meet next Wednesday, but K will be out of town, so we’re investigating the possibility of hiring our usual sitter so I can go.  If that happens, and it all works out, I’d really like them to take a look at Act One.

My problem is there still seems to be something missing from it.  I also have to remind myself this is still a first draft, and I plan on getting feedback relatively soon.

In the meantime, the soldiering on will continue…

Leave a Reply

