Back to work…

Well, the emails have been sent out to all 6,304 of us Nicholl hopefuls regarding possible advancing to the next round.

Despite my positive thoughts and efforts, I was not among the fortunate.  I didn’t even get a p.s. saying how I was THIS CLOSE to making the cut.

It’s somewhat depressing, but I’ve been reading a lot of blogs and comments from people in my situation.  The responses have ranged from ‘They never like (genre) anyway,’ to ‘That’s it.  I’m done.  I will never enter this contest again.’

I’m probably more reluctant to try again next year.  But somebody posted an interview with a previous winner who said she had entered her winning script the previous two years, only to lose out in the first round.  But when she entered the third time, she was able to make it to the winner’s circle.  I’m more intrigued what changes, if any, she made to her script.  I bet I could do even more to improve Dreamship, but that’s something to think about later on.

In the meantime, I’ve already broken several self-imposed vows regarding Baby Likes Jazz.  I haven’t been able to write every day, which is my own fault.  While I should be about halfway done, I’m only up to page 20.  I went back and edited/rewrote those pages, which I told myself I wouldn’t do.  But I also like them more than I did before, so that might not be a bad thing.

While I’m trying to get this first draft done, I’ve also been very concerned about whether or not it’s funny.  It’s hard to self-analyze on that front.  I’m not the kind of writer who does Hangover-type stuff, but I wish there was a way to improve.  Maybe writing every day will help.

Part of me also wonders how serious I am about getting this done.  It’s a cute concept, but doesn’t exactly scream “Commercial!”  I think I decided to take it on because I wanted to see if I could do it.  Maybe in the end it would work better as a writing sample.  Unless I can make it better.  We’ll see.

I’ve also started thinking about two other ideas I began developing before I dove into Baby.  One a mystery-comedy, the other another fantasy-adventure.  There are still lots of details needed to flesh out both, but I’m already looking forward to taking them on.

-I’ve mentioned to the wife about upcoming pitch festivals in August and September.  I like the idea of going, but wonder if it’s really worth it.  Then again, it’s not like anybody’s breaking down my door lately.  I’d probably pick one and take it from there.  We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

