Diving in!

I finally decided to bit the bullet, stop tinkering with the outline and start writing actual pages on Baby Likes Jazz.

It’s fun.

I’d forgotten the rush/thrill/satisfaction of doing  it.  Granted, I’m only up to page 8, but that’s after 3 non-consecutive days.  As much as I’d like to have at it every day, that just ain’t gonna happen, so I’ll take what I can get.

I’m also trying a new approach during this first draft – to resist going back and rewriting what I’ve already done.  Granted, I’ve already violated that self-imposed rule, but I’ll try to do better.

I figure if I keep at it on a semi-regular basis, I could possibly have a completed draft by the end of July.  And that would be great.

I’m finding that my writing ability is being put to the test during this time because some of my scenes in the outline have more in them than I can use in the script, so there’s always that ongoing  self-editing.  This is forcing me to slightly alter what I want to put in so that it still supports the story.  Sometimes it’s easy, sometimes it ain’t.

Even though this is supposed to be a comedy, that aspect is once again proving to be the hardest to accomplish.  I’d rather write something that made the reader/audience laugh out loud, rather than a slight chuckle or even worse, not respond at all.

Writing comedy has to be more than having characters say something sarcastic.  I have to work on that.

On a positive note, I gave the first 3 pages to my fellow former writing group member to get her feedback.  She liked them.  Not too bad, but the challenge will be seeing what the folks in the new writing group think.  They’re meeting tonight, but K is out of town through Sunday, so I won’t really know until I attend next time, and I don’t know when that will be.

-I’m connected with the Nicholl people via Facebook, and they’ve been posting rave comments about unidentified scripts.  The scary part is some of the comments could refer to my entry, which is nice to think.

But the realist in me is thinking “It’s not me.”  I think they’re not announcing the first round of finalist until the end of July, so I’m trying to keep myself distracted by working on Baby Likes Jazz and doing my best to not think about the Nicholl.  That’s not easy either.

But for now, I write and I dream.  Then I write some more…

Leave a Reply

