Onward!

Yes, it’s been a few weeks, but I reached a milestone today.  After being stuck with the last few scenes before the midpoint, today I pushed myself to get through them. And did.  It feels great.

Of course, that still leaves the rest of Act Two and all of Act Three, but I don’t feel as concerned about those.  I’m sure there will be revision upon revision during the next few weeks, but it’s all part of the process.  And I enjoy that.

Regarding scripts that have already been written, I received a note from a management firm I sent a query letter on Dec 28th.  They were interested in the Chinese restaurant script.  Despite years-old comments about their reputation, I threw caution to the wind and sent it to them.  I’ll be amazed if anything happens with it.

Apparently I entered a free contest in late January or early February that called for the logline to your script.  I forgot about it within the next few days.  Then I got an email about two weeks ago saying I was 1 of 100 finalists, and now I had to send in the script.  I spent the next three days revising and rewriting it.  I am really proud of the end product.  As I told my eternally patient wife, I don’t care if I win, or place (although it would be nice); I’m just glad I underwent the process.  I really think it’s a stronger script now.

The deadline for this year’s Nicholl is midnight tomorrow.  I was thinking I might splurge and enter said revised script, but due to recent hard times of a financial nature, it doesn’t look like it’s going to happen.

What I’m hoping is that over the next few weeks I’ll be able to make some good progress on the current outline.  I’m also hoping to keep revising to a mininum.  As with previous scripts, when I feel there’s nothing else I think I can improve, that’s when I’ll start on actual pages.

In terms of the writing group, it’s still just me and the other person. We’ve talked about how we can increase out numbers, but it looks like she may have found a group we could possibly join.  The funny part is we have to send in a paragraph describing ourselves.  While I can understand their criteria, it strikes me as a little odd.  But whatever works.

I really will try to keep this thing update on a more regular basis.  We’ll see how that works out.

Leave a Reply

