Slacker!

That’s me. I’ve been really bad about posting.  Guilty as charged.  I’ll try to do better.

On the script front, I reached the halfway point in the latest, detail-heavy outline.  That’s nice.  The second half is always intimidating, but I bet if I take a step back and take it slow, I’ll maneuver my way through it.

One of my biggest concerns is amping up the funny.  You always hear about how hard it is to write comedy.  It’s true.  I bought BLAZING SADDLES last week.  A lot of the jokes still stand up, and they’re really funny.  Of course, that had 5 writers, including Richard Pryor.

I won’t even get into the BACK TO THE FUTURE movies, which have been playing on Encore.  That is just some incredible storytelling, with some good jokes thrown in here and there.

What I’ve also noticed is that they don’t try too hard to be more realistic.  They embrace the story.  That’s something I haven’t quite grasped yet.  I focus more on being realistic, rather than embracing the story.  And sometimes I forget to have fun with it.  That’s important.

I suppose once I get the story worked out I’ll work on the fun part.

Plans slowly developing to actually go to LA mid-September to see Manager Guy.  I’m trying to figure out how to get at least 1-2 other meetings, but I’m not sure with who.  I thought about the guy who wanted to stay updated about my progress, but I wonder if it’s a good idea to contact him.  Still deciding.

I’ll try to be a bit more…timely about updates.

Leave a Reply

