Things back to normal…slowly

Yes, I know it’s been a while.  But it’s been quite a week.

First and foremost, K got a 4-month contract with a company located downtown, so she doesn’t have to drive anymore.  And hopes are high she will be taken on full-time when the contract is up.  Or even before.  Fingers crossed.

As for me, I’m not sure if it could be considered a rude awakening, but I got a lesson of sorts from Manager Guy.  I haven’t had any contact with him since the last week of May.  I sent him an email around 3 weeks ago and heard nothing.  Another one sent last Monday; still nothing.  I had gone from annoyed to just plain pissed.  I kept thinking he better have a good reason for being incommunicado for so long.  Then on Friday I ratcheted it up a step – I called.  Of course, it went into voicemail.  I was starting to get desperate.  I even considered calling the studios he sent the script to to find out if there had been any word (fortunately, K said that was not a good idea).  Now it was just a matter of waiting.

Then it came.  Saturday morning.  As I was getting ready to go to work, I checked my email.  The subject line was “Your voicemail”.  The content was a whopping seven words: “Got your message. No news to report.”

Excuse me?  That’s it?  5 weeks of nothing, and that’s his response?  I was not happy.  I’m still not.  What exactly has he been doing during this time?  Obviosuly not anything on my part.  If it weren’t so hard to get a manager, I’d drop him in a second.  But for all I know, this is standard operating procedure.  How incredibly annoying.

On a positive note, a management firm who had originally asked to see the script, and then forgot to get back to me and asked for it again, I sent the guy an email on Monday asking for his feedback.  I also added that the script had been optioned by Manager Guy, but I would still like his feedback.

He responded today with a very nice note saying “Congrats on the option. Certainly can’t say I’m surprised. Please keep me in the loop on future projects.”  Wow.  That is…so cool.  The first sentence is standard. The second sentence is a huge confidence-booster.  He must have liked it!  Wow again.  And the last sentence – WOW.  That is like…mega-cool!  I do wonder if when the current script is ready, if it would be something he’d still be interested in.  Don’t know.  It is something to think about.

But in the meantime, I’ve come to accept that Manager Guy is busy and probably can’t get back to me when I want him to.  But he could least try to.

Speaking of the outline, I’m almost done with the latest draft.  The story feels stronger, and I still need a killer last scene.  For some reason, my hero still needs a long-term goal.  I’ve got a few ideas, but think I should finish this draft first.  When that’s done, I can look into inserting that subplot and see how it fits.

Lucky for me, I’m working the midday tomorrow, so I’ll try to work on that last scene, then on the aforementioned subplot.

And while all of this is going on, I’ve been thinking about the next script after this one.  And the one after that.

Darn my creative genius-ness.

One thought on “Things back to normal…slowly

Leave a Reply

