Nice to be back…

This is different.  The sun is actually shining outside.  I usually post at night, but I’ve been doing a lot of split shifts lately, so by the time K & V pick me up, we eat dinner and attempt to put V to bed, it’s almost time for me to crash as well.  I just haven’t had the consciousness to post.

So it’s the middle of the day, and this works better.

As I’ve said before, sometimes I do my best work AT work.  And that’s been the case for the past couple of days.  I managed to put together an improved Act One, with my sights set on venturing into Act Two.  That should be interesting.

My writing group used to meet every other Tuesday evening, but the other guy is in a show through July, so we haven’t seen him in a while.  He tries to get pages done when he can – don’t know how that’s coming along.  So now it’s just myself and the other original member of the group.  We met at Starbucks on Tuesday and had a good meeting.  We read through some of her pages, I gave her my feedback.  She read my Act One outline and liked it.  We may keep up the daytime meeting thing because it does make things easier, and try to include the other guy to help keep him active.

I finished the last of my casual reading books yesterday, so now I have no excuse to NOT work on Act Two.

It’s interesting seeing how the whole thing is changing as I go through each draft.  Certain storylines and subplots have come and gone, but the concept remains the same.  It’s all in the execution, I suppose.  As long as it’s funny.

Getting the story to work comes first, then the insertion of comedy.  Not as easy as one would think.  I’ll do my best and see what happens.

STILL no word from Manager Guy.  He’ll get a note on Monday, which means I’ll get a response around…Thursday.  With a timestamp of about 2AM.  Why IS he up so late?

I took the plunge and sent the script to that other manager/prodco last week.  I figured it was better than doing nothing.  I really wonder if they’ll call back.

I’m also not holding out much hope from the Big Agency.  It took them 3 months to ask for the script.  Now that they have it, I seriously doubt I’ll hear back from them.  It’s been about a month since I sent it, and haven’t heard diddly.  Which I’ll interpret as ‘thanks but no thanks’.  And still I soldier on…

In a non-writing note, I’m still a bit bothered by my run-in with the law Wednesday morning.  For the first time in 7 months, I took a different route to work.  It involved stopping at a major intersection, where the light was red and a car was waiting to cross with me.  I stopped, looked left – nothing.  Looked right – nothing.  Okay.  Good to go.  I pedal across and the police car on the other side of the street hits the lights and pulls me over.  A big grouchy-looking guy steps out and asks if I know why he pulled me over.  “Because I went through the light?” I say.  I don’t deny it, but it’s 4:30 in the morning, it’s not exactly the safest neighborhood and there’s nobody but me and the other car.  And the officer, of course.

He asks for ID.  I hand over my license.  While he’s checking my record, another unit rolls up.  In case he can’t handle this no-good lawbreaking cyclist, no doubt.  He emerges and gives me some story about another cyclist who did NOT stop at the red light and got plowed by a drunk driver.  He says something about there being a point on my license and hands it back.  But NO TICKET.  I climb back on the bike and ride off to work.

Can you get a point against your license for something that occurs on a bike AND if you don’t get an actual ticket?  General consensus among my peers regarding both is NO.

What did I learn from this?  Well, I already stop at red lights and look both ways, so not that.   Probably to stay on the street I’ve been taking.

Oh yeah.  Almost forgot.  Three years of biking to work. That’s a lot of radio shows, sweat-soaked shirts and flat tires.  Maybe I’ll even get fenders before the next rainy season.  That would be cool.

One thought on “Nice to be back…

Leave a Reply

