Sorry for the delay…

I’ve been busy.

After what seemed like an eternity of frustration dealing with a nasty case of writer’s block, I made some significant breakthroughs on BLJ.  I think it helped getting feedback from my writing group.  Their suggestions really made a difference in focusing on certain aspects of the story.  I implemented some of them, which also triggered some new angles I hadn’t considered.  Most of these came at the expense of dropping two characters I enjoyed developing, but as always, their sacrifice is for the greater good.

Right now, I’m working on trying to get the denouement scene together.  I don’t want to rush through it, but I’m quite excited about getting it done.  I suspect I won’t be as anxious/nervous about fine-tuning the whole thing when it’s done.

On another happy note, I got emails from two places I had sent DREAMSHIP to in late January/early February.  One is  a smallish place whose credits I can’t remember for the life of me, but they apologized for the delay and will be getting to it soon.  Don’t ask how long that means.

The other is Benderspink, a very hot/high-profile management company.  Granted, the message from was a generic intern, but it said they’re very interesting in reading it.  But it’s Benderspink, which is still really cool.  Not counting on anything from either, which seems to make the waiting easier to endure.

Before I sent it out this morning, I spent yesterday morning reading through it for any last-minute changes that might be necessary.  Even though I wrote it, I really enjoy reading it.  It’s just a fun story.  I’m hoping to accomplish something similar when I finally get around to MONSTER HUNTER and OMEGA GRRL.  But that’s down the road a bit.

I watched Frank Miller’s THE SPIRIT last week.  God-awful.  The less said, the better.  Fortunately, it was followed up by the somewhat dated but still enjoyable KANSAS CITY CONFIDENTIAL – an old-timey noir.

We were supposed to have friends over Saturday night, but they cancelled at the last minute.  I had proposed to V we rent SPEED RACER, since she seemed so keen on it last year.  She wasn’t interested.  We dug through our DVD library, with me suggesting titles she hasn’t seen, including ROGER RABBIT, STAR WARS and CHITTY CHITTY BANG BANG.  She wanted MARY POPPINS, which I don’t really need to see again for a long, long time.

As we watched a short cartoon, K suggested STAR WARS.  V consented, but half-heartedly.  Within seconds, she was hooked.  It was quite special watching it with her, especially since it was her first time (probably well into three digits for me).  She had a minimal amount of questions, which was nice.  I hope this is the start of her paying more attention.  Now I’m trying to figure out when she’ll be ready for EMPIRE.

I haven’t watched it in probably 6 months to a year, but it really is amazing what a great job Lucas did with how the story plays out.  I was also reminded of how bad the second Trilogy is compared to the first.

Oddly, I’m still interested in seeing SPEED RACER, even if it IS supposed to be bad.

Leave a Reply

