let’s try that again…

Wow.  The first post really, really sucked.  Probably because it was Sunday evening, I was tired and had to get to bed so I could get up at the crack of 3:20AM for work.

Believe me, I really wanted it to be so incredibly fantastic that you would find yourself checking in at least once a day to get the latest from me.  Didn’t happen.  Too bad.

That being said, I really don’t know what to expect out of this.  I’d like to try and keep it going as long as I can.  Keep in mind that topics most likely to be covered will include movies and screenwriting, comics – both print and web, food, radio stuff and other assorted factoids and tidbits about goings-on in my life.

I’ll start with the dominant topic these days.  In case you didn’t know, I’ve been working on screenwriting for just about 10 years now, with 7 scripts to my name.  Of those, I consider 2 presentable to folks in the industry.  The others…let’s just say they need work and leave it at that.

Of these 2 scripts, the first is a romantic comedy that landed me a manager.  But he did a crappy job and it didn’t lead anywhere.

The second is a fantasy action-adventure which got me THIS >< CLOSE to getting a real live agent.  But she had some personal issues to deal with and dropped out of the picture.  Undaunted, I decided to send out query letters to agents and managers while also working on a new script.  I must have sent out about 200 emails, give or take.  A majority of those remain unanswered.  Several bounced back indicating the recipient wasn’t around anymore.  Several more claimed to not have anything to do with writers (which makes me think the WGA and Hollywood Creative Directory really need to people to get updates).  And about 7 asked to see the script.

Now it is a wait and see situation.  This may seem discouraging, but I’m fairly certain this is a better percentage than I’ve ever gotten before.  And that’s saying something.

I’ll let you know how it goes…

Leave a Reply

